Congregation and Confederation

The network of the canons

In 1907 Neustift combined with five other monasteries to form the Congregation of the Austrian Augustinian Canons. The Congregation is a forum for the exchange of opinions and a vehicle for representing the members’ joint interests to the outside world. It is headed by the abbot general, who is elected from the governing provosts for a period of five years. The individual monasteries are independent of their diocesan bishop.

The Austrian organization is one of a total of nine Congregations of Augustinian Canons. They all belong to a worldwide Confederation, which was founded in 1959. One of the abbots general of the Congregation is elected abbot primate for six years and represents the interests of the Order in Rome.

Your Browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser. To have the best experience use one of the following browsers: